Dressage Teams Announced for 2021 North American Youth Championships

For Immediate Release
Tuesday, July 27, 2021

Lexington, KY (July 27, 2021) - The United States Dressage Federation™ (USDF) is pleased to announce the riders that will represent the United States in the North American Youth Championships (NAYC) for dressage. The championships will be held August 9-15, at Great Lakes Equestrian Festival (GLEF), in Traverse City, MI. A total of 59 youth, age 14-21, from across the country, will compete. Young equestrians vie for team and individual medals in the three Olympic equestrian disciplines of show jumping, dressage, and eventing. The competition is run under rules of the FEI (Federation Equestre Internationale), the international governing body for equestrian sport, and is the only FEI championship held annually on this continent.

“2021 is the year that was and the year that wasn't, since we did not have a 2020 NAYC. It is difficult enough to qualify to represent one of the nine regions and your country at this competition, but to then add the incredible physical and emotional rollercoaster of a pandemic makes the whole journey in a different dimension. This year, we are sending both Juniors and Young Riders from each of the nine US regions! Congratulations to all the athletes, horses, owners, coaches, trainers, grooms, and parents. However, a huge - HUGE - congratulations goes to the tenth team. The tenth team is the team of dedicated individuals who continued to believe in this competition and had the perseverance, despite the pandemic, to see that we did not lose such an important competition as NAYC. Our youth need it and our sport needs it. See you all in Traverse City!” said Roberta Williams, USDF FEI Jr/YR Committee Chair. 

The following riders and horses have been submitted on the NAYC Definite Entry for dressage and will represent the United States:

USDF Region 1 Juniors: Genevieve Oliver and Shading, Abigail Rowe and Freewill, Franki Kesner and IL Divo, Katarina Leisinger and Desperado 8, with alternates Eliza Kirkpatrick and Wiriana.

USDF Region 1 Young Riders: Hannah Irons and Scola Bella, Allison Nemeth and Tiko, Megan Peterson and Amoretto, Maja Cornwell and Breaking Dawn, with alternates Emma Teff and Ugo JV.

USDF Region 2 Juniors: Julia McDonald and Lehndorff Van De Vogelzang, Alicia Berger and Trust Me, Allison Berger and Mejicano CXV, Kayley Knollman and JP Zeppelin, with alternates: Beatrix Leffingwell and Nymphenburg's Sylvester, Nicole Lang and Jagger DG, Allison Berger and Fine Time 13, Alicia Berger and Aire Cavaleiros.

USDF Region 2 Young Riders: Madeleine Perry and Smile, Maggie Tifft and E-ROS, Alexander Dawson and Raven Black, Margaret Putnal and Zon Primaire.

USDF Region 3 Juniors: Kat Fuqua and DreamGirl, Misha Cohen and Fuerstenglanz 3, Elaine Grubbs and Enebro XIV.

USDF Region 3 Young Riders: Melanie Doughty and Fascinata, Savannah Mixon and Florence-Ra, Suzannah Rogers and Paladine of Elysium, Lydia McLeod and Honneur B, with alternates Sierra Inabnett and Buttercup.

USDF Region 4 Juniors: Ella Fruchterman and Holts Le'Mans, Kylee Kment and Honor, Lexie Kment and Montagny von der Heide.

USDF Region 4 Young Riders: Tillie Jones and Qi Gong TF, Averi Allen and Superman, Nicolas Beck and Campari, Emma Lavin and Bella Mia, with alternates Tillie Jones and Apachi.

USDF Region 5 Juniors: Elizabeth Petersen and Simba, Katherine Nayak and Gaspacho, Nadine Lurz and B Special.

USDF Region 5 Young Riders: Claire Gunther and Easy Breezy.

USDF Region 6 Juniors: Reese Wyman and Samurai, Daphne Glenn and Romanesque.

USDF Region 6 Young Riders: Jessica Beck and Elewaard, Ashley Anderson and Dr Zeuss.

USDF Region 7 Juniors: Nicole Ellsworth and Rower Be, Lily-Rose Bacon and Warm Night, Josephine Hinnemann and Breanna, Ellanor Boehning and Banderas SK, with alternates Anna Yost and Irieno-S.

USDF Region 7 Young Riders: Christian Simonson and Zeaball Diawind, Katherine Mathews and Solière, Miki Yang and Donovan, Erin Nichols and Handsome Rob AR, with alternates: Christian Simonson and Hemmingway, Lucienne Bacon and Do Re Mi.

USDF Region 8 Juniors: Tiggy Gates and Shadow's Dream, Emily Jackowski and Pluto Bona II-64, Sarah Listzwan and Brandtoftes Sjubell, Helen Pope and Galveston, with alternates Tessa Holloran and Ike.

USDF Region 8 Young Riders: Rose Keller and Dievittorio O, Caroline Cadorette and Dustin.

USDF Region 9 Juniors: Madison Waller and Diablo DC, Savana Garvey and Don Larson, Isabella Fielder and Conan Star, Zainab Shah and Dr. Schiwago 9, with alternates: Isabella Fielder and Carre Magique, Daniel Patterson and Sacred Showdown.

USDF Region 9 Young Riders: Sarah Evans and Carzanola, Sydney Lipar and Herzkonig, Olivia Patton and Lorino.

For complete qualifying results and standings for the North American Youth Championships for dressage, visit the USDF website.  Or, for additional information regarding the North American Youth Championships, visit the USEF website.

Founded in 1973, the United States Dressage Federation is a nonprofit membership organization dedicated to education, recognition of achievement, and promotion of dressage. For more information about USDF membership or programs, visit www.usdf.org, email usdressage@usdf.org, or call (859) 971-2277.